Archive

Archive for March 3, 2010

By the Numbers–2010 Texas Primaries

March 3, 2010 Leave a comment

In addition to being Texas Independence Day, Tuesday was also Election Day in the great state of Texas. While you can go to any website and get an in depth analysis into what Rick Perry’s victory may mean in the world of American politics, I thought I would share my unique perspective on some numbers that jumped out at me from Tuesday’s election.

  • 10 – Number of years since I voted in the Republican Primary. I last voted in the Republican Primary during the 2000 Presidential Election. No, I did not vote for George W. Bush.
  • 362 – Number of people who voted in the Republican Primary in my precinct. Living in a heavily Republican neighborhood, I imagine the numbers in the Democratic primary were much lower. It really is disappointing that so many people refuse to exercise their right to vote, especially on a day with such significance as Texas Independence Day.
  • 50 – There’s a 50% chance that I’ll cross the aisle in the general election and vote for Bill White, the Democratic nominee for governor.
  • 62 – The number of races on my precincts ballot, one of the most expansive ballots in my memory.
  • 7 – Number of contested races on the ballot.
  • .74% – Margin separating Geraldine “Tincy” Miller and George M. Clayton for the District 12 Representative on the State Board of Education, one of several pivotal races for the State Board of Education.  Clayton represents a change from the Taliban like forces that have made a mockery of our education system.
  • 5 – Proposition 5 on the Republican Primary ballot asked whether the Republican Party should adopt a position favoring legislation requiring a doctor to show a patient a sonogram prior to performing a “medically unnecessary abortion.” I’ve remained consistent in my opinion that there is too much government in health care. I have been a vocal opponent of health care reform and have attacked all efforts to inject government in areas best served and controlled by private enterprise. I’m amazed at the hypocrisy of members the Republican Party–the party of limited government–who attacked Democratic attempts at  health care reform as an example of an overreaching government, yet feel we need legislation forcing doctors to perform a sonogram on a woman seeking an abortion. This proposition violates the two principles I hold dear–free enterprise & privacy.